the adventures of Super Tom

all the things I like and do

My visit to the National Gallery

on October 21, 2012

Yesterday, I went to the National Gallery in London with my family. I have been learning about Van Gogh at school and we went there to see his paintings called the sunflowers, the chair and also Cezanne’s ‘Bathers’. I almost fainted when I saw actual real life Van Gogh paintings! They were way bigger than I expected and I could see Van Gogh’s oil paints stand out from the canvas because it was so thick. I couldn’t pick a favourite painting because I liked the whole gallery actually! In the gift shop I bought some postcards and a ‘mini masterpiece’ kit so that I could do my own masterpiece at home.

So today I did the mini masterpiece. I decided to paint some fruits and a painting for my mum. The fruit was called a ‘still life’ and Van Gogh and Cezanne both liked doing them so I told mum I was being “a bit like Cezanne”! 

Leave a Reply

