the adventures of Super Tom

all the things I like and do

My day as headteacher

on July 19, 2012

Headteacher TomToday I was headteacher for the day! I couldn’t wait. I was headteacher because my mum won it as a prize at school. This morning, instead of me going to the gates and waiting for them to open, I went to school early and went through the office. I wore a shirt and tie and black trousers and socks with diamonds on because I was allowed to wear mufti like a proper teacher. When I went through the office Mrs D (deputy head) greeted me and told Mrs F (the headteacher) I was here. Mrs F took me into her office and we had a chat about what we were going to be doing today.

We had a walk around the school and we visited classrooms. Classes 3E and 1M were colouring in Olympic medals and making some to celebrate the Olympics. I also wrote a letter about my day being headteacher which will be sent home tomorrow. I saw the Year 4 leavers assembly and I gave out stickers – I had five stickers and I gave them out to people who were sitting nicely!

I didn’t have to do any school work at all because I was headteacher. Instead, I helped Mrs F on the computer to find something for a letter, I spoke to other teachers and held doors open for other people. I held Tommy the Tortoise when I visited 1M’s classroom. It felt very funny because he kept moving around but luckily he didn’t escape.

I found it very interesting when I went to the ICT room to give out stickers. It was interesting because everyone was doing very good work on the computers. I saw two friends on mine playing Granny’s Garden, they were helping each other out.

Instead of me having a child’s tray at lunchtime, I had a plate for adults! When I had my hand up, Mr P asked me what I had my hand up for and I said I had it up because I wanted to leave the dinner hall. Mr P said I could decide if I could go because I am headteacher for the day! He also bowed to me every time he spotted me which made me very giggly! It will be very very serious when he is my teacher next year.

It was very fun in Mrs F’s office because lots of children came in and got stickers. One of them was for a class canvas and the other was for amazing sums.

I had a chocolate mini roll because Mrs F and I really needed a break in the afternoon. Mrs F told all the teachers that I have a blog so I think she’ll be reading this!

I had a really really really really great day as headteacher.

Tom 🙂

6 responses to “My day as headteacher

  1. tomsandras says:

    WOW that sounds like you had a great day, well done. I bet you looked really smart in your shirt, your photo is very nice. I see where you lost your tooth! I wonder if you would like to be a teacher when you are older? The chocolate mini roll sounds good too, I can see why you and Mrs F needed the break you had a busy day. Luv Granny xx

  2. joshwatters says:

    well done Tom it sounds like you did a very good job and I am sure Mrs Farbon really found it helpful having you there to support her. I am pleased your mum came to race night and won this for you – I bet you are too. Keep blogging it’s fab

  3. missiava says:

    Wow! I wish I could be head teacher for the day! Did you tell anyone off? It sounds like you did a great job.

  4. Peter Donnelly says:

    Were you called Mr Tom?

Leave a Reply

